YOUNG ADULT
AUTHOR

JENNIEKE COHEN

WRITER OF HISTORICAL YA FICTION

NOVELS

MyFineFellow hc c.jpg

Available January 11, 2022
From HarperTeen

Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this cheeky and charming historical tale, perfect for fans of Bridgerton or Dickinson.

It’s 1830s England, and Culinarians—doyens who consult with society’s elite to create gorgeous food and confections—are the crème de la crème of high society.

Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate—and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year.

Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong.

Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won’t allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby—but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society.

When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef.

But Elijah’s transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize—and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.

Dangerous Alliance Cover

Available NOW

From HarperTeen

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen in this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery!

Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

However, Vicky’s comfortable, idyllic life is overturned in the course of one night. Her sister’s husband turns out to be a terrible cad and now Vicky must marry, or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society’s season in a flutter of silks, dances, and pretty words.

But Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky’s particular circumstances: whether the gorgeous and roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend—the much-grown and very handsome Tom Sherborne—is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky’s books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her. . . accidents that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.

To learn a bit more about Dangerous Alliance, check out my Pinterest Board "The World of Dangerous Alliance"
Pre-order the Hardback or eBook
Order the Hardback or eBook
Pre-order the Audiobook
Order the Audiobook
 
 

ABOUT

Jennieke Cohen is a Filipina-American author of young adult historical fiction. Her debut novel, DANGEROUS ALLIANCE, was a Junior Library Guild selection and has been translated into multiple languages. Jennieke studied English history at Cambridge University and has a master’s degree in professional writing from the University of Southern California.

When not writing or researching little-known corners of history, you'll find her cooking and baking up a storm, singing show tunes, over-analyzing old movies, or getting outside to enjoy the sun in her native Northern California.

Pink Flowers
 

FAQ's 

Frequently asked questions

How do you pronounce your name, and where does it come from?


My parents named me after a Dutch fashion model they saw on TV. Although it's not the original Dutch pronounciation, I go by "JEN-ih-kuh Co-en"




What are some of your writing influences?


I tend to draw inspiration from history, folklore, and the great female novelists of the past, especially Jane Austen, the Brontës, Lucy Maud Montgomery, and Daphne du Maurier.




Who are some of your favorite contemporary authors?


Tasha Alexander, Sarah Addison Allen, Lisa Kleypas, Shannon Hale, Susanna Clarke, and Jessica Day George. In general, I also love great fairy tale retellings, anything with suspense and/or adventure, cute romances, and happy endings!




The main character of "Dangerous Alliance" is essentially a Jane Austen fan before "fandoms" existed. What are your favorite Austen novels?


My personal favorite is "Pride and Prejudice" because I do feel like it's the most fun. I really also love "Northanger Abbey" because it's clever and snarky and Henry Tilney is arguably the most "modern" gentlemen of Austen's "heroes." Mr. Darcy is great and certainly swoon-worthy, but Henry Tilney is the type of guy I think I'd like in real life. "Persuasion" used to be near the top of my list, but after re-reading it recently I had a difficult time relating to Anne Elliot. Really, I love them all. Even "Mansfield Park"--although I do have to skip Mrs. Norris's diatribes when I re-read it. She is seriously the worst.




What are some of your favorite movies?


I have too many to count! But if we're talking comfort movies I watch over and over, I'd have to say: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, French Kiss, America's Sweethearts, Pillow Talk, Romancing the Stone, Stowaway, Sense and Sensibility ('96), Gigi, Clueless, Tangled, and Austenland. This doesn't include all my love for films in a number of subcatagories like epics, movie musicals, suspense, and great film essentials, any of which I will be happy to discuss with you on social media!




Are you going to write a sequel to "Dangerous Alliance?"


I currently have no plans to write a sequel, but I would love to revisit these characters some day! If you're one of the people dying for a sequel, the best way to make that happen would be to Tweet at or write to my publisher, HarperTeen, and let them know how you're feeling. :D





 

Past Events

  • Valentine's Day Bookish Tea Party
    Sun, Feb 16
    Face In A Book
    Feb 16, 2020, 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM
    Face In A Book, 4359 Town Center Blvd, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762, USA
    Join me at Face In a Book to talk about romance, books, and to have a lovely Sunday afternoon tea!
    Share
  • Los Altos Valentine's Day Stroll
    Fri, Feb 07
    Linden Tree Books
    Feb 07, 2020, 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM
    Linden Tree Books, 265 State St, Los Altos, CA 94022, USA
    Join me at Linden Tree Books in Los Altos as we discuss DANGEROUS ALLIANCE
    Share
  • DANGEROUS ALLIANCE Bay Area Launch
    Sat, Dec 07
    Barnes & Noble Concord
    Dec 07, 2019, 2:00 PM
    Barnes & Noble Concord, The Veranda, 2025 Diamond Blvd Suite 125, Concord, CA 94520, USA
    Tobie Easton and I will be talking all things books and celebrating DANGEROUS ALLIANCE's release in Concord, California!
    Share
  • DANGEROUS ALLIANCE Launch Party Sacramento
    Dec 03, 2019, 6:00 PM
    Barnes & Noble, Creekside Town Center 1256, Galleria Blvd, Roseville, CA 95678, USA
    Join me and #1 New York Times Bestselling author, Stephanie Garber, as we celebrate DANGEROUS ALLIANCE's release day at Barnes & Noble, Roseville, CA!
    Share
 
 

CONTACT

For rights inquiries, please contact Jennifer Unter at The Unter Agency:

Tel: 212.401.4068 | 141 Parkway Road, Suite 10 | Bronxville, NY 10708 www.theunteragency.com

For events and publicity inquiries, please contact Kathleen Carter at Kathleen Carter Communications:

kathleen(at)kathleencartercommunications.com | www.kathleencartercommunications.com

For all other inquiries, please contact me using the form below:

Thanks for submitting!

Feeling Social? Get in Touch or Follow My Adventures:

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon